Primary Election May 17

Perry County — May 17 is the day for the 2016 primary election in Kentucky. Republican candidates for President of the United States will not be on the ballot because Kentucky Republicans held a caucus in March to decide the state’s winner in that race. However, all other races for Republicans and Democrats will be on the May 17 ballot, including the Democratic candidates for U.S. President.

On the Democratic side of the ballot, the race for President includes Martin O’Malley, Bernie Sanders, Hillary Clinton and Rocky De La Fuente. The candidates for United States Senator are Tom Recktenwald, Grant Short, Sellus Wilder, Jim Gray, Rory Houlihan, Jeff Kender and Ron Leach. The senate seat represented in this election cycle is currently occupied by Rand Paul, who is a Republican.

Locally, a heated race for State Representative of the 84th District includes two Democratic candidates on the ballot. Those candidates are incumbent Fitz Steele and the challenger Kenneth Hall.

Republicans, as mentioned earlier, will not have any of the Presidential candidates on the ballot. However, Republicans will vote in the other races. For United States Senator, the Republican candidates are incumbent Rand Paul, and two challengers: Stephen Slaughter and James Gould. The race for U.S. Representative in Congress involves incumbent Hal Rogers and John Burk. Whichever candidate wins the primary in this race will claim the office, whereas there is no Democratic challenger.

In the race for State Rep. in the 84th District, Johnnie Turner and Chris Fugate will be on the ballot.

Polls will be open from 6:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. on May 17. The General Election will occur in November to determine the overall winners for most of these positions. Anyone in Perry County with questions about the election or voting can call Perry County Clerk Haven King at 606-436-4614.

Sam Neace can be reached at 606-629-3243 or on Twitter @HazardHerald.

comments powered by Disqus