Coal counties receive refund

By Sam Neace - [email protected]

FRANKFORT — Gov. Bevin announced last week that 33 Kentucky counties will receive refunds from mining permit and acreage fees. The money is allocated through The Department for Natural Resources, which is responsible for collecting the fees and distributes a portion of the generated revenue to the governments of counties where coal is mined. Perry County is included in this initiative.

The overall amount of the refund equals $180,000. The money is not divided equally. Some counties are receiving rather low payments. Pike County is among the biggest beneficiaries, with $40,000 reserved for the Pike County Fiscal Court. Perry County’s share is about $18,000.

The Department for Natural Resources releases this funding directly to each qualifying county’s fiscal court. The fiscal court is then free to use the money in whatever way it feels will best serve the citizens it represents.

Sam Neace can be reached at 606-629-3243 or on Twitter @HazardHerald.

By Sam Neace

[email protected]

comments powered by Disqus