Last updated: February 03. 2014 1:39PM - 6309 Views
By - aholliday@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

HAZARD—Candidates for the 2014 primary races in Perry County are now sealed as the deadline to file has passed. Nearly a dozen hopefuls traveled to the Perry County Court House last week to add their names to the primary ballot before the 4 p.m. deadline on Tuesday; however, one candidate made that trip to do just the opposite.

Kenny Miller ran on the Democratic ticket for Perry County Jailer in the 2010 election, losing to current Jailer Jeanette Miller Hughes by only a handful of votes. Miller had filed to run again in 2014 for the same position, however, on Tuesday he made the decision to withdraw his name from the race.

“I’ve got some medical issues, and I’m just going to withdraw and I’ve got some things to follow up on and stuff and I just ain’t going to be able to go through with it,” Miller explained on Tuesday.

Miller said he only lost by nine votes in the previous election, and knew he had many people backing him this time around as well.

“I just want to say to the people that’s helped me in the past election, I appreciate everything that everybody done and helped me in that election. We come so close last time, and I was going to try this time again, and everybody was looking and backing me there, I just appreciate all your help,” he said.

Two candidates filed for jailer just before the deadline, though. Wayne Napier and Ryan Oneil Little will be on the republican and Democratic tickets respectively in May.

Another candidate dropped out of the 2014 primary race on Thursday. Donald “Happy” Mobelini withdrew his name from the ballot for City of Hazard mayor, though could not be reached for comment as to the reason for his decision. Mobelini was the first candidate to file for the mayoral race in 2014.

The races for county magistrates will likely be heated this election year with 25 candidates now filed for the the three county districts. Republican Howard Young, Jr, and Audrea “Nikki” Turner and Eddie Eldridge, both Democrats, were added to the magistrate race for District 3, the only district without an incumbent candidate after current Magistrate Earl Brashear announced last year that he would not run again.

Both the county judge-executive and the county clerk races have had names added to the ballot recently. Former State Representative Scott Alexander will go up against current Judge-Executive Denny Ray Noble in May, and Eddie Campbell will be running on the Republican ticket unopposed after Butch Chaney withdrew in December.

County Clerk Haven King will be up against two hopefuls in May after James R. Richie and Dickie Vannarsdall filed to run this week on the democratic ticket; Kirsten Engle will be running as a Republican.

Perry County Coroner Jimmy Maggard waited until almost the last minute last week to file to keep his current position. Wayne E. Bowling and former Deputy Coroner Kenneth Hall, who had been the only candidate in that race to not own or run a funeral home, withdrew on Monday.

“I feel the people of Perry County should have a choice as to who they want to be their coroner,” Hall said last week. “The coroner’s office should not be affiliated with any funeral home and both candidates own funeral homes. No family should feel pressured or obligated in [a] time of need just because the coroner owns a funeral home.”

No candidates have filed for soil and conservation supervisors or for surveyor.

Candidates for Buckhorn and Vicco city offices will have until August to file, so those races will continue to see updates as the year continues.

The full list of candidates for the May 2014 primary race is as follows:

U.S. Senator

Burrel Charles Farnsley (D)

Matt Bevin (R)

Gurley L. Martin (R) -Withdrew

Mitch McConnell (R)

Tom Recktenward (D)

Alison Lundergan Grimes (D)

Gregory Brent Leichty (D)

James Bradley Copas (R)

Chris Payne (R)

Shawna Sterling (R)

U.S. Representative

Billy Ray Wilson (D)

Kenneth S. Stepp (D)

Harol “Hal” Rogers (R)

Judge of the Court of Appeals

Sara Combs

Janet L. Stumbo

W. Kent Varney

State Senator

Brandon Smith (R)

Jordan Bowling Palmer (D)

State Representative

Fitz Steele (D)

Neal Feltner (D)

Circuit Judge

Scott Blair

Alison Wells

Sam Collins

John Hansen

District Judge

Leigh Anne Stephens

County Judge-Executive

Denny Ray Noble (D)

Robert “Butch” Chaney (R) - Withdrawn

Scott Alexander (D)

Eddie N. Campbell (R)

County Clerk

Haven King (D)

James R. Richie (D)

Kirsten Engle (R)

Dickie Vannarsdall (D)


Chris Fugate (D)

Johnnie Brashear (D)

John “Joe” Mize (D)

Les Burgett (D)

Sara Turner (D)

County Attorney

John Carl Shackelford (D)


Dexter Howard (D)

Kenny Miller (D) - Withdrawn

Calvin Sizemore (D)

Jeanette Miller Hughes (D)

Darrell “Frog” Cole (D)

Rick Wooton (R)

Wayne Napier (R)

Ryan Oneil Little (D)


Wayne E. Bowling (D)

Jimmy Maggard (D)

Kenneth Hall (D) - Withdrawn

Property Valuation Administrator

John Frank Gross (D)

David Sandlin (R)

Magistrate, District 1

Jeffrey Allen Combs (D)

Charles Baker (D)

Jerry Wayne Stacy (D)

Rosa Couch (D)

Keith Miller (D)

Bill Combs (D)

Brownloe Neace (D)

Jeff Dixon (D)

Charles E. Feltner (D)

Frank Hurley (R)

Steve Argonis (R)

Constable, District 1

Nathan Miller (D)

Fred Neace (D)

David R. Baker (R)

Ben Stidham (D)

Ed Feltner (D)

Harold Dixon (R)

Magistrate, District 2

Ronald Combs (D)

Bubby Combs (D)

Hib Herald (D)

James “Big ‘Un” Jewell (D)

Constable, District 2

David B. Miller (D)

Magistrate, District 3

Mark Raleigh (D)

Kenny Cole (D)

James Ritchie (D)

Cletas Moore (D)

Heston Beverly (D)

William Alden Madden (D)

Kenneth Baker, Jr. (D)

Howard Young, Jr. (R)

Audrea “Nikki” Turner (D)

Edie Eldridge (D)

Constable, District 3

Clayton Church (D)

Eugene “Buck” Fields (D)

Dwight Wooton (R)

Mayor, City of Hazard

Happy Mobelini - Withdrawn

Jimmy Ray Lindon

Aster “Cat” Sizemore

Jamie Miller

Hazard City Commission

Janie Combs Hackney

Ricky Steele

J. “Fitz” Gilbert

Nan H. Gorman

Susan Martin Brotherton

Ronnie Joe Bryant

John M. Quillen

Alvin Harris

Donald B. White

Mayor, City of Vicco

Johnny Cummings

Vicco City Commissioners

Jimmy Ray Slone

Amelia Holliday can be reached at 606-436-5771, or on Twitter @HazardHerald.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Hazard Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com