Last updated: July 18. 2013 10:16PM - 80 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:
New board members sworn in

The Hazard Independent Board of Education approved four non-resident agreements during its regular meeting last week, and will be looking to approve another agreement with the Perry County School District later this month.
Non-resident agreements, also known as reciprocal agreements, concern the amount of students who can attend school in one district while living in another. These agreements are good for only one year, and must be approved anew each year. Only one of the four agreements approved last week will limit the number of students who can attend the Hazard School District.
An agreement with Leslie County Schools will limit the number of students to five that can attend school in Hazard while living in Leslie County. Hazard Superintendent Sandra Johnson noted that three students are currently enrolled at Hazard from Leslie County, while two students are traveling from Hazard to attend school in Leslie County.
Other district agreements were with Knott, Letcher, and Breathitt Counties, and there is no restriction to the amount of students who can attend school in Hazard from those school districts.
Another agreement should be approved in the coming week as Perry County Schools and Hazard Independent will be working to come to an agreement as well. Last year, and for the first time, an agreement was approved that would limit the number of students who can attend classes in Hazard while living in the Perry County district.
Perry County Superintendent John Paul Amis noted that the Perry County Board approved all non-resident agreements with surrounding school districts last month, but they do not become official until both districts approve the terms of the agreement.
Hazard Board members agreed to meet at a special called meeting on January 30, and on that agenda will be the reciprocal agreement with Perry County Schools. All non-resident agreements must be approved by February 1.
In other business, Aster "Cat" Sizemore and Lisa Townes Davidson were sworn in by Perry Circuit Judge Bill Engle as they began their first term as member of the Hazard Independent Board of Education.
Former board member Larry Riddle was also recognized during the meeting for his past service to the board. Riddle declined to run again last November.
All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Hazard Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com