Last updated: July 18. 2013 10:21PM - 56 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:
Sports Correspondent

After a week off, NASCAR headed to Indianapolis and the Brickyard 400. Tony Stewart picked up NASCAR’s last win at Chicagoland, and held the momentum coming into Sunday’s race. Stewart is known for winning races in bunches, and picked up his seventh career back-to-back wins as he pulled away from Juan Montoya to claim the checkered flag.
Within the first 10 laps of the race, the day’s leaders will move to the front of the pack. Tony Stewart will take the lead on lap 18, while Jeff Gordon will move into the top 10 from his 21st starting spot. Dale Earnhardt, Jr. would make his presence known at the front as well, and would claim the lead on lap 21.
Hard times continued to follow last year’s champion Jimmie Johnson as an incident involving Jamie McMurray and Scott Riggs severely damaged his car. Johnson would eventually fall out of the race as a flat tire would put him into the wall on lap 60. The crash, however, would allow Tony Stewart to reclaim the lead.
The second half of the race would set up a titanic battle between Tony Stewart and his close friend Kevin Harvick. With only a handful of laps remaining (eight), Tony Stewart passed Harvick, and began to pull away from the pack. With only three laps to the end, Juan Montoya came out of nowhere to pass Jeff Gordon and Kevin Harvick. Montoya would not, however, have enough time to run down Stewart.
Stewart went on to claim the checkered flag and his second Brickyard 400. Stewart and his entire pit crew climbed the fence and kissed the bricks after the race.

Brickyard 400 results

Tony Stewart
Juan Montoya
Jeff Gordon
Kyle Busch
Reed Sorenson
Mark Martin
Kevin Harvick
Jeff Burton
Dave Blaney
Matt Kenseth
Kurt Busch
Martin Truex Jr.
Clint Bowyer
Ward Burton
Greg Biffle
David Ragan
David Gilliland
Carl Edwards
Bobby Labonte
Paul Menard
Brian Vickers
Denny Hamlin
Bill Elliott
Ricky Rudd
Ken Schrader
David Stremme
Robby Gordon
Elliott Sadler
Scott Riggs
Terry Labonte
Scott Wimmer
Kyle Petty
Jamie McMurray
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Casey Mears
J. J. Yeley
Johnny Sauter
David Reutimann
Jimmie Johnson
Kasey Khane
Tony Raines
Ryan Newman
Jeff Green

Nextel Cup Point Standings

Jeff Gordon
Denny Hamlin -371
Matt Kenseth -377
Jeff Burton -443
Tony Stewart -452
Carl Edwardds -494
Kevin Harvick -588
Kyle Busch -597
Jimmie Johnson -607
Clint Bowyer -671
Martin Truex Jr. -741
Dale Earnhardt Jr. -859
Kurt Busch -872
Ryan Newman -918
Jamie McMurray -972

Busch Series Kroger 200 Results

Jason Leffler
Greg Biffle
David Reutimann
Carl Edwards
Ron Hornaday
Aric Almirola
Scott Wimmer
Kevin Hamlin
Mike Bliss
Brad Kaselowski
Jason Keller
Tim McCreadie
Bobby Hamilton Jr.
Cale Gale
Richard Johns

Busch Series Point Standings

Carl Edwards
David Reutimann -852
Jason Leffler -947
David Ragan -1014
Kevin Harvick -1036
Bobby Hamilton Jr. -1087
Dave Blaney -1142
Stephen Leicht -1209
Mike Wallace -1236
Marcos Ambrose -1279
J. J. Yeley -1313
Greg Biffle -1323
Scott Wimmer -1379
Clint Bowyer -1395
Matt Kenseth -1458

Craftsman Trucks Power Stroke Diesel 200 Results

Ron Hornaday
Johnny Benson
Travis Kvapil
Rick Crawford
Ken Schrader
Todd Bodine
Erik Darnell
Regan Smith
Jack Sprague
Brendan Gaughan
Mike Bliss
Ted Musgrave
Dennis Setzer
Matt Crafton
David Green

Craftsman Truck Point Standings

Mike Skinner
Ron Hornaday -77
Todd Bodine -246
Travis Kvapil -251
Johnny Benson -450
Rick Crawford -455
Jack Sprague -579
Ted Musgrave -618
Matt Crafton -654
Erik Darnell -733
Dennis Setzer -735
David Star -755
Terry Cook -822
Brendan Gaughan -854
Aaron Fike -859
All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Hazard Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com